Cupcakes, cupcakes, cupakes!

I wrote a post about Alabama’s new Cottage Law over on my Pursuit of Ashley blog because supporting locally owned and operated commercial bakeries is something I am very passionate about. That blog post had me reminiscing about the small bakery that I owned and operated for two years. (The shop, Simply Sweet Cupcake Boutique, although now owned by someone else, is still open if you want some yummy baked goods.) I am thankful to all of my family members and customers who supported me and allowed me to chase a dream! The business and I were featured in several local magazines, on the local news morning show several times, and the local newspaper. I was proud of building my business from literally the ground up, so here, if you are interested, are some photos of our shop and my all-time favorite cupcake projects:

My favorite picture that I used in most of my ads…

cupcakes13

Some of my favorite orders came from some very creative, loyal customers. I loved these Alice and Wonderland themed cupcakes.

cupcake 2

Especially the stacked teacups.

cupcake 1

 

I loved these Breakfast at Tiffany’s themed cupcakes that a customer requested.

cupcakes10

I loved taking my customers wonderful ideas and using flour, sugar, and a little fondant to turn them into tiny, edible pieces of art. Here are some “shabby chic” cupcakes…

cupcakes6

And some “retro-housewife” cupcakes for a wedding shower…

cupcakes7

Under the Sea…

cupcakes5

Cupcakes that were “tutu” cute!

cupcakes8

We catered a ton of weddings, and I loved being a part of all of them. Here are a few of my favorite wedding photos:

cupcakes11

wedding cupcake

I loved doing hydrangea-inspired cupcakes for weddings

wedding5

 

cupcakes12

This wedding tower was 6 feet tall!

wedding7

Some brides wanted all one flavor of cupcakes, while others offered their guests a variety…

wedding 7

Here is a picture of me in the shop that was taken for the newspaper. (Note: I was unprepared for this particular photo– hence the no-makeup, worn out appearance!) I loved our fabulous logo in the background; we put a lot of time and thought into coming up with it.

cupcake queen

Some other articles…

cupcake bosspage1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And I’ll leave you with our most popular non-food item from the shop!

peace love and cupcakes

 

One thought on “Cupcakes, cupcakes, cupakes!

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on Alabama’s Cottage Law | The Pursuit of Ashley

Leave a Reply

