Lego Party

lego banner

My son loves Legos, so it was no surprise when he requested a Lego-themed birthday party. Actually, he requested a Lego-themed, glow-in-the-dark, party at our local bouncy-house party facility. No big deal, right?! Never one to shy away from a theme, I jumped on the Lego train and got to work. I found this website, Makoodle.com, on Pinterest that gave me a starting point, and some great ideas for the party.

Lego Invite 3I started with these cute invitations from Makoodle. Follow the link to get to a downloadable template. Makoodle also includes a template for the “You’re Invited” stickers to go on the front of the invitations. I added my son’s party information and had the invitations printed on heavy cardstock at my local office supply store. I have found that the copy quality is much better doing it there than at home, and actually cheaper than having to purchase ink. I ordered the clear pillow boxes from Amazon, added a few Legos, and the label. (I used the extra large pillow boxes, but I think the large ones would work fine.)

Crayon Favor

The next step was making the crayon party favors. These Lego molds came in handy for party favors and his cake. Simply unwrap and break crayons into the mold and bake them in the oven at 225 for about 10 minutes, or until the crayon is melted. Allow to cool completely before popping them out of the mold. It was a fun project, and my son enjoyed helping me unwrap and break the crayons up. We even made some multi-colored crayons with the leftover pieces at the end. Those were the crayons he wanted to keep.

favor bag2

I tend to over-do everything. So although the crayons alone would have been a great party favor, I also made Lego-inspired favor bags by using a 2″ craft punch and some hot glue.  I found some other Lego-inspired goodies and added them to these favor bags. I decorated the tables in the party room with primary colored table covers, plates, napkins, and such. I also used some of my son’s Lego toys as decorations.

lego cake

For his cake, I was inspired by THIS cake. I used the same silicone mold that I used for the crayons. I melted white chocolate to make the bricks. To color candy melts, white chocolate, or any fat-based product you really need to order oil-based food coloring. Water-based food coloring will make the chocolate seize up and give you a gritty texture. I didn’t have any oil-based food coloring on hand, or the time to order some, so I found that if I pre-mixed my regular Wilton/Americolor food coloring with about a tablespoon of Crisco before adding it to the chocolate it kept the chocolate from seizing. For the sides of the cake, I used Satin Ice Fondant. (Satin Ice tastes much better than what you can purchase at your local craft/hobby store. You can order some from GlobalSugarArt.com. A 5-pound tub is plenty.  I always order white fondant, and color it myself.) I also made a fondant, Lego-esque decoration featuring his name for the top of the cake. If you don’t want to fool with fondant, you could use the chocolate bricks for the sides too like on the Makoodle website.

glow in the dark

In case you were wondering, he DID get to bounce around with glow sticks in the dark too! I think he had a pretty fabulous 5th birthday party! You can view my inspiration Pinterest board here to see some of the other ideas that I liked, but didn’t use. There are some other cool invitations, and a link to purchase the crayons from Etsy if you don’t want to make them. I made some Lego Rice Krispy Treats like these to send to school on his birthday. The 5 dish that I filled with candy can be purchased from ShopTomKat.com.

Leave a Reply

