The Perfect Pomegranate Martini

martini1Pomegranate Martinis are my favorite drink of the moment. I may even be a bit of a Pomegranate Martini snob. I try them wherever I find them on a menu. Most often, I am disappointed. Most that I have tried are too tart. I prefer mine to be on the sweet side. There is an upscale steakhouse close to my house that seems to have the best. After a few Fridays in a row of sitting at the bar with my husband eating steaks and drinking martinis, I befriend the bartender who gave me his recipe. I went home and tried it, and voila! the Perfect Pomegranate Martini. It almost taste like a pomegranate-infused lemonade. It is so yummy, and pretty potent.

The base of the recipe is PAMA Pomegranate Flavored Liqueur. I was able to find it at my local, state-controlled, beverage store. It is alright alone– although a little bitter, but it is also good in a number of other cocktails. It has become a staple in our bar stock. I

The recipe calls for Sweet and Sour Mix. I prefer to make my own at home– the store-bought stuff is too sweet and artificial-tasting. I keep some in a mason jar in the fridge. It keeps for about a month, and makes the perfect margarita when mixed an equal portion of lime juice, a shot and a half of your favorite tequila, and a splash of triple sec. Click here for my Sweet and Sour Recipe.

The Perfect Pomegranate Martini

1 1/2 oz. PAMA Pomegranate Flavored Liqueur

1 1/2 oz. Sweet and Sour Mix

1 oz. Absolut Mandarin

1 oz. Triple Sec

I have found it is best to start with chilled mixers. I shake with ice, and serve in a sugar rimmed glass with a lemon twist.

 

 

Leave a Reply

