Sweet and Sour Mix

***I am back (again)! It has been a long while since I last blogged, but it has been a busy year for us. I changed jobs twice, and we closed a deal on the bakery business that I used to own. I have been super busy, but I am ready to get back to sharing some of my ideas.***

Our Spring calendar is full of parties, so I find it is good to maintain a well-stocked bar for entertaining. I like to be sure to always have fresh lemons and limes on hand, as well as mixers, including this bar staple. Sweet and Sour Mix is found in a number of cocktails, and also serves as the base for the perfect Margarita. Many Sweet and Sour Recipes call for equal parts lemon and lime juice. I make mine with just lemon juice, and add lime juice when making a margarita.

Sweet and Sour Mix

1 cup sugar

1 cup warm water

1 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice

Stir sugar and water in a sauce pan over low-medium heat until the sugar has just dissolved. Remove from heat and allow the sugar mixture to cool a bit. Chill the mixture before making cocktails.

Double the recipe if necessary. I keep it in a mason jar in the refrigerator. It keeps for a month, if not longer.

For a margarita, combine 1 1/2 oz. Sweet and Sour mix with 1 oz. of freshly squeezed lime juice, 1 1/2 oz. of tequila, and 1 1/2 oz. of triple sec. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

