Hello, Summer!

Summer 1

I know that some parts of the country are just now settling into Spring time, but here in the Deep South, Memorial Day weekend means the end of the school year and the debut of summer! It was such a beautiful day outside today, that I decided to surprise my 4-year-old with some extra fun outside time. I put some of his favorite water toys, plus some bubbles and water balloons into a pail that I decorated with cutouts from a FREE Summer Printable from Amanda’s Parties To Go. I love free printables, and these are super cute, so be sure to check out her other designs while you are at her site. And, yes, I know that my child would have squealed with delight whether I had bothered to decorate his bubbles and pail with summer-themed paper or not, but I truly enjoy decorating and making things extra-special for him. If your kids are in school, what a fun way to surprise them when they get home on their last day before summer vacation.

IMG_0948I also whipped up some sweet, summer time, snacks: Jell-O oceans with gummy fish, cupcakes with festive toppers from Amanda’s Parties To Go (see that FREE Summer Printable I mentioned earlier), and fresh homemade Strawberry Lemonade.   (NOTE: I did not give my child ALL of those snacks at once, any one at a time would be a treat. I may not be on the all-organic, all-the-time, bandwagon, but I also don’t advocate a sugar overloading.)

IMG_0954Now, for the big announcement! You can now buy cute paper, party supplies, like the adorable paper straws that I often use in my very own Etsy store!  I am super excited to begin to bring you amazing pretty, paper, party supplies. I am launching the Etsy shop with two of my favorite products (paper straws, and favor bags), but I plan on expanding the products I carry in the near future. I’d love to hear from you about what patterns/colors, themes, or products that you’d like to see featured. I will be blogging about all of the amazing ways you can present items at your events using these amazing paper products. Click the “Shop” link at the very top of the page to browse the Etsy store.

Notes & Tips on Today’s Projects:

  • In the Jell-O oceans, you could use Swedish fish if you can’t find Nemo, or clean toys if you want to avoid the gummies altogether. Best to eat these as soon as they are chilled because the gummies start to dissolve after a while.IMG_0953
  • I used store bought cupcakes even though I am typically diametrically opposed to store bought baked goods (especially since I used to own a from-scratch bakery and all) because I was really low on time this week. I recommend making your own, if you can swing it.
  • You could make lots of variations of the Strawberry Lemonade– substituting a cup of your favorite liquor for one cup of seltzer water to make an adult version, for example. Yum!
2 thoughts on “Hello, Summer!

  1. Hey Sass!

    You have some really cool ideas.
    You’re uber talented and creative.

    I really like the strawberry lemonade in
    Mason Jars w the paper straws.
    I, however, may not be able to follow
    your advice about having them all at once.
    Everything looked too good!
    I’m totally going to sugar overload.
    (Just don’t tell anyone – Ha)

    Best,
    Mitchell C.

Leave a Reply

