Azalea Trail Cupcakes

20130516-160709.jpgThis is a picture of me 100 years ago. Okay, maybe it was closer to 10 than 100, but it feels like forever ago. Anyway, today’s project was inspired by my days as an Azalea Trail Maid. It would also be perfect for your little (or all grown up) ballerina, princess, or even a bride. Picture one in white and the rest in pink for a wedding shower or brunch. ADORABLE! Too bad my son wouldn’t appreciate all of my girliness that I am destined to have to keep all bottled up.

For these cupcakes, I used these super cute Ruffled Baking Cups. They come in a variety of colors, and I tried to match the cup color to the frosting color. You will also need some fondant– I highly recommend ordering some Satin Ice Rolled Fondant, and skipping the craft store kind*, a mini-onsie cookie cutter, a small flower cookie cutter, some sugar pearls, and a petal tip (I used Wilton No. 104).

20120904-190509.jpgBake your favorite cupcakes in the ruffled baking cups and allow to cool completely. Mix up your favorite frosting recipe– if you use canned, you will have to add some confectioner’s sugar to make it stiff enough to hold the ruffles. Color the frosting as desired. (TIP: I only use gel food coloring, and I recommend Americolor brand. It can be purchased at Global Sugar Art.)

While the cupcakes are baking and cooling, you can roll out your fondant. Cut a onesie and flower out for each cupcake. This can even be done a day ahead of time, since the fondant needs to completely dry before you insert it in the cupcake.

When frosting, start at the bottom, outer layer first. Hold your piping bag and tip so that the fatter (more open) end is closest to the center– the skinny end will be the ruffle edge. Work your way around the cupcake, layering the ruffles. If you look closely at my samples, you will see that each cupcake has a different ruffle pattern. Quick, long strokes will give you ruffles like the pink cupcake in front. If you like the ruffles of the second (aqua) cupcake, go slower and wiggle a little as you frost. The purple cupcake was made with quick, short, curved strokes.

When you are finished frosting, insert your dried fondant onesie in the center. Pipe a line across the center to stick the pearls on, and a little dab of frosting to stick on the flower. These cupcakes are sure to wow any girly girl.

XOXO,

signature

2 thoughts on “Azalea Trail Cupcakes

  1. These are amazing!!! My cousin is a new lavender azalea trail maid for this year! You are so talented!!!!

    • Thanks, Erin! Congrats to your cousin! Lavender is my favorite color. You should make her one. I promise they’re pretty easy to do. I’m sure Anna Claire would love one too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

