Top 5 Pretty Kitchen Things…

…that I couldn’t live without.

Before you go further on this blog journey with me, you might want to see if you have the necessary items that I will be referring to in upcoming posts.

IMG_09615. My gadget drawer. Ok, I might be cheating a little on this one since technically my gadget drawer contains multiple items. But, let me tell you the most important ones: an apple corer, a pizza cutter, a washable ruler, meringue powder, a fondant smoother, a good rolling-pin, several good spatulas, a whisk, an offset knife for frosting, an assortment of cookie cutters, and a cake leveler. I also keep greaseproof cupcake liners,  paper straws, and lollipop sticks on hand in there at all times.

4. Gel Food Coloring. Anytime you see me post about adding food coloring to anything, it’s the gel kind, not the liquid stuff that comes in a dropper bottle. Wilton makes a gel food coloring that comes in little jars and is available at all craft and hobby stores. Wilton will work fine, but Americolor makes a much better product. I have found that the color lasts longer, plus it is packaged in a squeeze bottle so you don’t have to fidget with spoons and toothpicks to add the right amount of color. I recommend THIS starter set, then you can order other colors as needed. While you are there, consider ordering a set of Americolor Gourmet Food Writing Pens. (I use black the most, but have a full-color set.) Global Sugar Art is a great source for baking supplies, and they frequently run specials.

3. Good Frosting Tips. Every Southern lady needs a good set of frosting tips. A long time ago, I invested a great deal of money in an expensive set and I hardly ever use any of them. My favorite and most frequently used tips are Wilton’s No.’s 1M (Swirl tip), 2D (drop flower), 233 (a grass  tip), 102 and 127 (petal tips), and round tips 2, 6, and 10. That’s it. I very rarely use any other frosting tips.

P.S. I do not use couplers, they are just extra things to wash, and I don’t bother with washing pastry bags– ever. I prefer disposable ones. I just cut the opening small enough that I can drop the tip in and it doesn’t squeeze out without a coupler.

2. Pretty Servingware. I love pretty servingware, especially cake plates. I could just collect them and display them and never use them. But, when you work hard in the kitchen to make something pretty, you want something equally beautiful to display it on. Invest in pretty servingware. It is the difference between, “That’s nice,” and “Wow!” at a party. Even disposable servingware is important (i.e., pretty paper nut cups and cupcake wrappers). It’s pretty inexpensive and makes a great impression on guests. Be sure to check out my Etsy shop’s collection of pretty paper favor bags, and paper straws HERE.

1. My Mixer. My KitchenAid mixer is the first thing I had to have when I got married. I love it. I use it all of the time–too frequently to even mixerbother ever putting it away. It lives on my counter next to the coffee pot and the microwave. To work the most efficiently, you will need the whisk attachment and the paddle attachment, and it wouldn’t hurt to spring for an extra bowl. I know the KitchenAid is a little pricey, but I got mine on sale, used a 20% off coupon, at a time when they were doing a $60 mail-in rebate, so it wasn’t that bad, and it comes with a warranty. It’s been a few years, but I am sure you could wait for a deal. It is worth it, trust me.

Assuming that the ‘fridge, stove, oven, and sink are givens, what’s the one item that you couldn’t live without? Comment below and let me know!

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Pretty Kitchen Things…

  1. Without a doubt – My Kitchen Aid! I received it as a wedding present and rarely used it for a number of years. Then I started baking and other than my microwave and coffee pot, it’s the most frequently used item on my counter.

Leave a Reply

