Block Party Blog

block partyEvery year my street hosts a pretty awesome block party. The neighbors get together to coordinate blocking the street off and hiring a band. Each house rents tables and chairs and linens to put on the lawn. We had a really great turn out this year. I thought I would share a few of my favorite things about this year’s party.

The best part about this year’s party was that I re-used a lot of items from my son’s Pirate Party a few weeks earlier. When planning both parties, I intentionally purchased things that would be usable at each function. I used the same table runners for both parties, paper straws, and even some plates, napkins, and other decor.

Our menu featured catered pulled pork and potato salad for 30. My mother made her should-be-famous baked beans. I put out a few snacks, including Mamie’s Famous Cheese Wafers— if you have never tried them, you should. They are very much like cheese straws, but better! We put the barbeque outside, and set up a wine and sushi bar inside. So, with the house clean and the flowers ordered, all I had to do was come up with a couple of desserts.

Two of the most popular items from my days as a cupcake shop owner were Red Velvet and Key Lime cupcakes. Anything on a stick is more fun, right? So, I made Red Velvet Cake Pops for block party instead of regular cupcakes. I wouldn’t dare share the Red Velvet recipe, but I will give you a quick how-to on these lovely cake pops. Cake pops are basically two parts cake to 1 part frosting. If you ever have leftover cake or cupcakes, freeze them and save for cake pops.

cupcakesThe cute polka-dot cupcake wrappers, and the pretty, paper straws both came from Shop Sweet Lulu. Instructions for the cake pops, and a key lime recipe are below.

Cake Pops

  1. Crumble the cake and frosting together: You can do this with a fork, or with the paddle attachment of your mixer. Use your hands to roll the cake/frosting mixture into balls. I use a heaping tablespoon. Once rolled, place the cake balls on wax paper and put them in the ‘fridge or freezer until they are well chilled. (They should be firm, but not frozen.)
  2. Melt 1 package of vanilla almond bark according to the package directions. Then dip each of your sticks, in this case straws, into the melted almond bark before putting them in the cake balls.
  3. Use the straw to help you dip the cake pops into the almond bark. Be sure to swirl off any excess.
  4. Decorate how you wish! Add sprinkles before the chocolate hardens, and piping work after the chocolate hardens. Ta-da!

 

end of night

Until next year,

signature

Leave a Reply

